K-Pop Booster Shot

K-pop is equal parts glamour, swagger, and absurdity. I eat it up like my main man, mayonnaise. Unfortunately, I can’t listen to Korean music around my English students, and I don’t own a radio. So, the only time I really discover new k-pop is while at bars and clubs. Luckily, my clique’s favorite haunt in Anam, Kingstraw: Fusion Conestoga Wagon, has massive flatscreens that blast the latest and greatest the ghost of King Sejong has to offer. Last night, I discovered 3 new jams. Behold

BigBang, Tonight. The heavy-hitters return after a supposed two-year hiatus (one of the members may have been serving their military conscription). Tonight seems to be along the same lines as GD & TOP’s album, in other words, awesome. [Edit: Apparently the video hosted on BigBang’s Youtube channel isn’t available stateside. Try this vijeo instead, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=beLeeg_gnnU]

JTONG, 구구 가가 (GuGu GaGa). Jtong appears to be a rapper out of Busan, and possible a member of some group reffered to as Illest Konfusion. I’m not sure what he yelling about here, but it seems he is calling most k-pop artists babies, thus the baby-talk title. Anyway, he’s angry, the video is grayscale, there are lots of chains, and he has a mohawk. Wins all around.

JYPark, Itaewon Freedom. I just don’t fucking know. I’m not even sure of the artists name. “Where is Nam-san tower?” This is hilarious and infectiously catchy. This cannot be unseen.

About foambrew

I'm a food science graduate from the University of Minnesota. I spend my time being in Seoul for a year, brewing beer, consuming food, biking, playing the tuba, and enjoying the Twins and Gophers. I can usually be found doing some combination or derivative of these things.
This entry was posted in Music, Seoul and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to K-Pop Booster Shot

  1. K8 says:

    The first video isn’t available in the US…. Mawww

  2. foambrew says:

    @K8… I didn’t even know that was possible… ghetto version time.

Leave a Reply

