From Disonance to Consonance

While I’m not one to make New Year’s resolutions–it seems like a pretty arbitrary way to motivate one’s self–I’ve had a few goals tucked in my pocket, waiting to be accomplished. I’ve also bought some new shoes that I want to brag about…

My goals for the new year, in no particular order:

Procrastinate Less

It only took me 9 days to write a New Year’s post… I’ll work on this one later.

Learn Korean

I’ve picked up a nominal amount of Korean in my first 5 months in Seoul, but I am determined to leave Korea with tangible evidence of having learned something here. A third language under my belt would be as good as anything (especially if WWIII breaks out about the 38th parallel). Through the magic of iTunes, I found Talk to Me in Korean, a set of Korean language podcasts broken into manageable 5-15 minutes episodes/lessons. The show is extremely well done, easy to hear–more importantly, understand–and surprisingly engaging. The hosts, Hyunwoo Sun (선현우) and Kyeong-eun Choi (최경은), are quick-witted and simply enjoyable to listen to.

I’ve gone through the first 8 lessons, learning simple phrases like hello (안녕하세요), excuse me (여기요), and a few other tidbits. My plan is to listen to one episode each weeknight, then review the episodes over the weekend. You too can follow along at talktomeinkorean.com

Post More Often

This has been a constant goal of mine since starting the blog… The real word seems to be too much of a distraction, or maybe I just really dislike writing, even if it isn’t homework. At any rate, I said I’d post more after getting a camera; I’ve got a camera, so let’s do this. I think I can muster a significant post each week, with snippets strewn in as they inspire me.

A night in December... In front is Soju to keep me sane, in back are journals to grade to drive me bonkers.

Get The Knees, Shoulder, and Body in Shape

Since hurting my shoulder, I’ve been hesitant to really go full-bore at rehab and working out. But that was over a year ago; it’s time for the pussy-footing to cease. I started rehabilitating the shoulder and knees intensively in October and got sidetracked in late November when work entered an especially busy period.

My new Nikes Free TRs, the crosstraining version of the Free line of running shoes.

Now, work is back to its normal pace, the days are getting longer, and I’ve got new sneaks to carry my samgyeopsal-ladden ass down the road. I plan on tracking my weight, using my (seriously bitchin’) Adidas miCoach to plan my runs, and using the Army’s physical fitness standards to track my sit-up and push-up progress. If things go according to plan, I’ll be in the same shape as a United States Army standard issue killing machine by the time I leave. If things go especially well, I’ll have started serious training in an attempt to run the 2011 TC Marathon.

Only time will really tell if I accomplish these goals, but I am optimistic. If I learned two things in my 5 years of college they were Balls Out! and DIE TRYING.

 

P.S. I should probably also have goals about cooking/eating more adventurous foods, studying brewing, and finding a job back in MPLS. I made a derricious fish sandwich today… I’ll lump all those together as goals “in progress.”

About foambrew

I'm a food science graduate from the University of Minnesota. I spend my time being in Seoul for a year, brewing beer, consuming food, biking, playing the tuba, and enjoying the Twins and Gophers. I can usually be found doing some combination or derivative of these things.
This entry was posted in Seoul and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

