Meat Sweats: How I Spend My Fridays

On a typical Friday, I will endure 9-10 hours of being yelled at and annoyed by varying ages of Korean children who want to be at school about as much as I do. Then I consume vast, vast quantities of maekju, soju, and galbi (that’s beer, soju, and BBQ meat) at a nearby restaurant. Then I waddle home and enter a 72-hour meat coma.

On this particular Friday, my 3-coworkers and I consumed an amount of food and drink previously thought impossible. All told, our bill was an astonishing ₩127,900 (compared to a typical bill of ₩15,000 per person). In order of appearance, we ate wang galbi, galbi sal, dwaeji galbi, and oohsamgyeop. Oohsamgyeop is very thinly sliced and marinated samgyeopsal, and appears to only exist at the galbi house near my apartment.

P.S. Wang galbi means king barbecue. Yes, the Korean word for king is wang.

About foambrew

I'm a food science graduate from the University of Minnesota. I spend my time being in Seoul for a year, brewing beer, consuming food, biking, playing the tuba, and enjoying the Twins and Gophers. I can usually be found doing some combination or derivative of these things.
This entry was posted in Food, Seoul. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

