Updates Galore!

As you may have noticed, I changed the site up quite dramatically. The first day of Summer saw me drinking a Furious while making changes to the blog. The most notable, and will probably be the shortest living change, is the theme. I Like the streamlined look, but there isn’t much horizontal space…

Other improvements include the new banner, which will have to change again if the theme does. The sketch from the drawing is a snippet from a symbolic self portrait I drew for my visual arts class (same class I made “Follicle Follies” for). The full picture is a stick figure, with epic wings and a mug of beer in hand, standing on a mountain bike, on top of a skewed image of Minnesota. Of course, the figure is spitting a huge plume of fire.

I scanned my original black and white sketch, cleaned it up and added color in Photoshop. I then cropped it, added the phrase “cerevisiæ ergo sum” and a gradient to make the banner itself. The full (color) picture is below:

Self Portrait

I also updated the links section to be more cohesive. The “Beer Podcast/Mags” section is for the more professional beer sites, either geared toward beer information or brewing. The “Beer Sites” section is for any bloggers, news feeds, or other beer related sites.The “Bike Sites” section is for bike sites, phew. “Now Brewing” will feature any beers I am currently working on, and will link to the “Now Brweing” page. Hopefully this will change on a more frequent basis. The “Now Playing” section will still show whatever the album of the moment (I need to update it for “The Bake Sale,” by the Cool Kids) and link to the artists’ websites.

Oh, there will also have to be an “Other Pages” section to link to the “About,” “Now brewing,” and “Cellar” pages. The cellar page doesn’t exist right now, as it sucked and needs to be reconsidered.

Speaking of the cellar, today was “double discount day” at the liquor store my mom (and I occasionally) works at.  Naturally, I met her at work and used her discount to buy much more beer and booze than needed. If you’re going to overdraft your checking account. it may as well be on something worthwhile. Anyway, I’ve got an impressive new colletion of brews on hand. Highlights include:

  • 16, 17 and Terrible from Unibroue
  • 3 Feet Deep from Furthermore (mmm, dirt)
  • Bourbon County Stout from Goose Island
  • 2 Mikkeller Stateside IPAs
  • A couple saisons
  • Hedricks Gin (Fuck yeah! Best Gin in the World)
  • Buffalo Trace straight Kentucky Bourbon

I know the last two aren’t beer, or really belong in a cellar, but don’t worry. They are both incredibly delicious, and my cellar is really my bedroom. One of my (many) goals for the summer is to make a simple bottle rack, so I can store my beer in the basement with class. A couple slats of wood and some varnish and BOOM, I’m pretty much a self-made cicerone.

Updates a plenty for sure, and expect more to come.

About foambrew

I'm a food science graduate from the University of Minnesota. I spend my time being in Seoul for a year, brewing beer, consuming food, biking, playing the tuba, and enjoying the Twins and Gophers. I can usually be found doing some combination or derivative of these things.
This entry was posted in Cellar, Misc and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Updates Galore!

  1. Shawn says:

    Nick,

    I wholeheartedly support the creation of a beverage cellar rack. Let me know sometime if you want to have a beer tasting and cellar rack building get-together.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

