Tasting-Sam Adams’ Old Fezziwig Ale

I picked up a  Sam Adams winter mixed 12 pack. I bought it mostly for the Winter Lager, but also enjoyed the Cranberry Lambic, Boston Lager, and Old Fezziwig Ale. I fell short of reviewing each of the six beers, but I do have one last Fezziwig. So, here we go:

Appearance

Pours an extremely deep mahogany red, with a tan 3/4 inch head that settles quickly and leaves no lacing. Sparkling clear, and visible bubbling ceased after about 8 minutes.

Smelldsc00028

An almost musky smell comes off first, must be a spice I’m not used to. It might just be the cinnamon and orange mixing. No noticable hop aroma. I can also pick up a maltiness underneath the funk.

Taste

That funk is still present here, but it is more obviously a combo of the orange and the cinnamon. I can also pick up on the ginger now. This is the weirdest combination of spices I’ve ever tasted, a mix of sweetness and sour and tangy, but in combination with the malty-ness and slight bitterness. Just plain… odd.

Mouthfeel

This beer is thin and smooth. I wouldn’t go so far as to call it flat, soft is a better word, almost creamy.

Drinkability

Nothing about this beer is  except for the flavor, which really is just more weird than anything else. I drank this beer quite easily, but the flavor still stuck out like a sore thumb. After a few more, I might get used to the tast. Then again, maybe it would continue to stick out and I would have trouble finishing beer two or three.

Overall, nothing bad here, nothing impressive–just weird. I probably wouldn’t drink this again, but the flavors could go well when paired approriately, or if used in the rigth recipe.

About foambrew

I'm a food science graduate from the University of Minnesota. I spend my time being in Seoul for a year, brewing beer, consuming food, biking, playing the tuba, and enjoying the Twins and Gophers. I can usually be found doing some combination or derivative of these things.
This entry was posted in Tasting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

