Joe-Bob Honkey and Silent Train

Last Wednesday was probably the best Wednesday on the history of the planet. Deuce barbecued up some mouth watering ribs, which we ate while hearing a performance from Joe-Bob Honkey and Silent Train. The music attracted some neighbors, as expected. Some were cool, singin’ along with the songs they knew, dancing and what-not. Others–really just one drunk chick– were douche bags. And Some were really cool, ie, the neighbor who owned a fiddle and kicked out some serious jams with the band. Deuce and a treetrust employee also joined the band for some massive jam tunes.

I was able to record a couple tunes on my mp3 player. My batteries were dieing and I was drinking, so I only recorded the first couple songs, missing the jam sessions. Also, all the files seem to have a high pitch ring for the first 20 second; I’m not really sure why that is, but it can be avoided in the future by starting the recording a little earlier and clipping the dead air off. Anywhere, here is the first song of the night, “Looking out my backdoor” featuring some chatter between Johnny D and Kellner about a particularly difficult beer bottle: Joe-Bob + Silent Train perform Looking Out My Backdoor

During the fours hours that the ribs were cooking, I was also able to brew my Leftover EPA. Unfortunately I tried to follow my hop schedule from memory, and ended up doing the reverse of what I intended. I originally planned on adding 0.5oz @ 60 min, 0.5oz @ 30min, and 1.0oz @ min. Instead I added 1.0oz @ 60 min, 0.5oz @ 30min, and 0.5oz @ 0min. Maybe this will turn out to be a Leftover IPA now. Also, I probably should have placed the hops in a muslin bag. I asked the clerk at Northern Brewer his opinion, which was that I didn’t need one, but I never mentioned that my batch was only going to be 1 gallon. Even though I ran the beer through a strainer into the carboy, a large amount of trub has formed. I’ll have to try filtering again before I bottle.

About foambrew

I'm a food science graduate from the University of Minnesota. I spend my time being in Seoul for a year, brewing beer, consuming food, biking, playing the tuba, and enjoying the Twins and Gophers. I can usually be found doing some combination or derivative of these things.
This entry was posted in Brewing, Events and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

