Making Underground Raw Shit

Why don’t people listen to more good hip-hop? It kills me to hear the B.S. that gets played on top 40 radio. I hate it when old ladies talk to me about music and they say things like “I don’t understand why people listen to this crap. It’s all just a bunch of cussing and yelling.” I cry at night because they will never hear good hip-hop. I desperately want to turn on some blackstar or atmosphere to show those gray hairs that hip-hop can be smart, funny, and even musical. But they have been lied to and tricked for far too many years by the joke that advertising agencies call rap. The concept that rap is juvenile and ignorant has been beat into their minds by the likes Chamillionaire (below) for too long for them to give good rap a chance. Thank you Chamillionaire. Old people all over the world will not give hip-hop a fair chance and will soon die having never heard a worthwhile rap. I hope you are happy.

“I remember diamonds used to be a girl’s best friend” -Murs

Luckily I am not yet hobbling around with one of those walkers that have two tennis balls on the front feet so I don’t have to strain my flabby old arms to lift it with every step. I have given rap a chance. I embrace rap like a warm blanket on a cold winter night. Recently, I have been using the power of pandora to listen to some awesome hip-hop, mostly rhymesayers stuff. I had heard of Murs before listening to pandora–mostly in his duo with Slug called Felt–but hadn’t heard any of his solo stuff. After hearing a couple tracks by the LA rapper, I broke down and bought “Murs 3:16 the 9th Edition.” It’s great stuff. Check out the music video for “Bad Man!” my current favorite track from the album:

About foambrew

I'm a food science graduate from the University of Minnesota. I spend my time being in Seoul for a year, brewing beer, consuming food, biking, playing the tuba, and enjoying the Twins and Gophers. I can usually be found doing some combination or derivative of these things.
This entry was posted in Misc and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Making Underground Raw Shit

  1. dima says:

    very nice.
    exact same here, but I use beatbasement.com

  2. binary star says:

    Um… nice example – I don’t think Chamillionaire even curses at all on his records.

  3. foambrew says:

    My point wasn’t exactly that Chamillionaire cusses on his records, but I can see how that came across. The reference I made to cussing was more of a general one. I, for one, don’t mind swearing at all. Many people do, however, and it is a common perception of hip-hop as a whole. My point in bringing up Chamillionaire was that I think he sucks, that’s all.

Leave a Reply

