Leftover EPA

I’ve got some left over dry malt extract from the Speckled Hen clone I made earlier this year. I’ve decided to use this leftover malt to make my first original beer. I want to head over to Northern Brewer later today to buy items for another brew, probably just a kit. I’ll pick the ingredients for this brew as well.

This is the mock-up as I have it so far:

Malt: 0.75lb Wheat DME, 0.75lb Light DME

Specialty Grains: 1lb Crystal 10L

Hops: 2 oz. loose Fuggles (0.5 @ 60 min, 0.5 @ 30 min, and 1 @ 0 min)

Because I have such little extract, I have to make up for it with Specialty grains and low volume. I’m curious to see how much of an impact the large amount of crystal malt will have.

According to the recipator a boil volume of 1 gallon will have an original gravity of 1.075, color of 10 SRM, and bitterness of 59 IBU.

I plan to use Wyeast #3724, Belgian Saison: medium flocculation, 76-80% apparent attenuation, and a fermentation range of 70-85 degrees.

With 80% attenuation, the final gravity should 1.016 and percent alcohol of 7.7% ABV.

About foambrew

I'm a food science graduate from the University of Minnesota. I spend my time being in Seoul for a year, brewing beer, consuming food, biking, playing the tuba, and enjoying the Twins and Gophers. I can usually be found doing some combination or derivative of these things.
This entry was posted in Brewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

